Editorial Board of the EU-China Observer

Members of the Editorial Board

Shaun Gerard BRESLIN

Professor Shaun BRESLIN  is Professor in the Department of Politics and International Studies at the University of Warwick, and Co-Editor of The Pacific Review. He was Senior Scientist of the EU FP7-funded project on Europe in a Multipolar Global Order (2011-2015). He has published widely on China, East Asia and EU-China relations, and comparative regional integration studies. 


Dr. Duncan FREEMAN  is  a Research Fellow at the Brussels Academy of China and European Studies (BACES) and Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB). He teaches and carries out research on China’s economic and political development in addition to EU-China relations at the Brussels Diplomatic Academy and Brussels Academy for Chinese and European Studies, both at the Vrije Universiteit Brussels. He has a BA in Politics and Modern History from the University of Manchester, an MSc in Chinese Politics from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London, and a Postgraduate Diploma in Economic Principles from the University of London and PhD completed at the VUB. He has lived and worked in China and Hong Kong for a total of 17 years and is fluent in Chinese.

Among his areas of expertise are China’s outward investment, policy on China’s renewable energy sector, the economic transformation and political development of China, and EU-China relations, including mutual differences in perceptions in the relationship.

Annika LINCK

Annika LINCK is since December 2014 Research Assistant for the Baillet Latour Chair of European Union-China Relations in the Department of EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies at the College of Europe in Bruges. She holds an MA in Political Science from the University of Mannheim (2012) and a BSc in International Business Management with a focus on East Asia (2009). In her Bachelor's thesis, she focused on EU-China trade relations (antidumping measures), while she mainly studied International Relations during her Master’s degree. In her Master's thesis, she conducted a quantitative analysis of the role of strategic considerations in the distribution of US military and economic aid. During her studies she spent one year in China, where she learned Mandarin, and an Erasmus year at Sciences Po Paris, where she was enrolled in the Master's in International Security. Before joining the College of Europe, Annika LINCK was a Blue Book trainee in the European External Action Service and a Communications Officer for EU Affairs in Brussels.


Jing MEN

Professor Jing MEN is Director of the EU-China Research Centre and holds the Baillet Latour Chair of European Union-China Relations in the Department of EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies at the College of Europe in Bruges. She obtained a PhD in Political Science at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Her research and teaching focus on EU-China relations. She is the founder of the electronic journal EU-China Observer, launched at the beginning of 2009, which publishes articles on EU-China relations. She publishes widely on EU-China relations and Chinese foreign policy and she co-founded the EU-China Collaborative Research Network under the University Association of Contemporary European Studies (UACES), which is a widely extended network for people who share the common interests on the research of EU-China relations.

Philomena MURRAY

Professor Philomena MURRAY is Professor in the School of Social and Political Sciences  and Research Director on Comparative Regional Governance at the EU Centre on Shared Complex Challenges at the University of Melbourne. She is a graduate of the College of Europe in Bruges and the University College Dublin and obtained her PhD at the European University Institute in Florence. Philomena MURRAY holds Australia's only Jean Monnet Chair ad personam. She is an Assessor for the Australian Research Council and for the European Research Council. A former diplomat, she has run training courses for the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Moreover, Professor MURRAY is Visiting Professor at the College of Europe in Bruges; Research Associate of Trinity College Dublin’s School of Business; Research Associate at UNU-CRIS, Bruges; and Adjunct Senior Fellow of the National Centre for Research on Europe, University of Canterbury.


Professor Ramon PACHECO PARDO is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) in International Relations at King's College London. He is also Co-director of the London Asia Pacific Centre for Social Science as well as a Research Associate at LSE IDEAS and the Lau China Institute. In addition, he is a Committee member at Council for Security Cooperation in the Asia Pacific  EU. His research interests include East Asia's regional governance, political economy and international relations, and EU-East Asia relations. Dr. PACHECO PARDO held visiting positions with Korea University, Melbourne University and National University of Singapore. He obtained a PhD from the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Anna Katherina STAHL

Dr. Anna Katharina STAHL is Research Fellow at the EU-China Research Centre in the Department of EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies at the College of Europe in Bruges. Before joining the EU-China Research Centre, she was a researcher in EU Foreign and Security Policy at the Institute for European Studies (IES) of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB). Dr. Stahl holds a PhD in political science, an MA in EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies from the College of Europe, as well as a French-German double degree in political science and public law from the Institute d’Etudes Politiques de Lille and the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Her research interests include European foreign policy, EU-China and EU-Africa relations, Chinese foreign policy, China-Africa relations and international development cooperation.

Reuben WONG


Professor Reuben WONG is Director of Studies at the College of Alice and Peter Tan (CAPT) and Jean Monnet Chair at the National University of Singapore (NUS). He is also Associate Professor in the Political Science Department at NUS and a Research Affiliate at the EU-China Research Centre at the College of Europe. Professor Wong earned an MPhil in European Politics at Oxford University and a PhD in International Relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science. A former diplomat, he served as First Secretary in the Singapore Embassy in Paris (1995-1998). 

Haiyan ZHANG

Professor Haiyan ZHANG is Associate Professor at NEOMA Business School and Director of the NEOMA Confucius Institute for Business in Rouen. He is also Associate Professor at the University of Antwerp and a Research Affiliate at the EU-China Research Centre at the College of Europe. Haiyan ZHANG holds a PhD in Development Policy and Management as well as an MA in Public Administration and Management from the University of Antwerp and a diploma from Shanghai International Studies University.


Professor Hong ZHOU is Deputy Chair of the Academic Division for International Studies at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) in Beijing. She was previously Director General of the Institute of European Studies and Senior Research Fellow at CASS. She is, inter alia, a Member of the 12th People’s Congress of China and of the China Social Economic Council as well as the Chair of the Chinese Association for European Studies and the Deputy Chair of the Chinese Association for International Relations. ZHOU Hong has published widely on the European Union, China and EU-China relations.



Partager cette page