Recognition of the diploma

The College of Europe (Bruges and Natolin campus) is a European educational institution established under Belgian Law. It is registered with the Flemish Government of Belgium as an institution of higher education. (The Flemish Government is competent for educational matters within the Belgian Federal State). Its Master's degrees are officially recognised by the Flemish Government, and are equivalent to fully recognised Master's degrees issued by a Flemish University

In accordance with the Bologna Declaration the College of Europe offers several one-year Advanced Master's degrees and, from the Academic Year 2009-2010 on, calculates coursework in ECTS credits. (English version) - (French version)
Since the Academic Year 2017-2018, the College of Europe also offers a joint, two-year Advanced Master’s degree in cooperation with The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University (Medford, MA, USA).

The one-year study programmes at the College of Europe lead to an accredited degree of 66 ECTS. The two-year study programme leads to an accredited degree of 120 ECTS.

The academic programmes of the College of Europe (Bruges and Natolin campus) are accredited by the Accreditation Organisation of the Netherlands and Flanders (NVAO, Nederlands-Vlaamse Accreditatie Organisatie). The NVAO was established by accreditation treaty between the Netherlands and Flanders with the aim of ensuring the quality of higher education. The two-year programme jointly offered with The Fletcher School is additionally accredited in the United States by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE).


The academic programmes are listed in the Flemish Register of Higher Education:, the official register for accredited degrees.