Other sources of possible scholarships

    There are several private companies that financially support students at the College of Europe. 
    • Bruges campus only
      National Lotterytwo scholarships (€ 25 000)for Belgian students from all study programmes are offered.

The selection process and the choice of the students benefitting from these scholarships is entirely conducted by the College of Europe and does not require any individual application process from the potential students. The choice will be made on the basis of merit.

    • BAEF:
      The Belgian American Educational Foundation (BAEF) encourages applications from US students for fellowships for advanced study during the academic year 2020-2021. The BAEF will award up to 10 fellowships each carrying a stipend of $ 28.000. Completed applications for the 2020-2021 fellowships are due no later than October 31, 2019. Application forms can be downloaded from the BAEF website.
    • Bruges-Natolin UK European Scholarships Fund:
      The Fund expects to be funding at least three tuition-fees-only scholarships. These are available to students from the UK, who can demonstrate that they would not otherwise be able to fund their study at the College. For further details please visit the website. No scholarship application needs to be completed. All eligible students offered places at the College will be considered for a Bruges-Natolin UK European Scholarship.
    • China Scholarship Council:
      Following the agreement between the China Scholarship Council and the College of Europe 3 to 4 full scholarships in total will be funded for the academic year 2021-2022. Eligible students for the joint scholarships are nationals from the People's Republic of China. Candidates for the scholarships should apply through the online application system of the College by the 13th of January 2021 and should also contact the China Scholarship Council in order to complete an additional application for funding. 
    • College of Europe Alumni (Bruges campus only):
      The College of Europe Alumni are financing several "Promotion Scholarships".
    • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO):
      The FCDO is funding a small number of scholarships to allow civil servants from the UK, to study at the College. The scholarships are available to all established graduate civil servants, including those in the fast stream programme who are committed to remain in an EU/International facing role in the civil service for 2-3 years. Further information is available from the FCDO College of Europe Team (CollegeofEurope@fcdo.gov.uk)

    • Fulbright:
      The Fulbright Commission in Brussels funds American candidates to study in Belgium (www.fulbright.be) and in the European Union (www.fulbrightschuman.eu), including at the College of Europe. Candidates interested in a grant should apply before the deadline in October to the Institute of International Education at the following sites: 
      Belgium: http://us.fulbrightonline.org/countries/selectedcountry/belgium
      Poland: http://us.fulbrightonline.org/countries/selectedcountry/poland
      Information leaflet 2019-2020
    • "Herman Van Rompuy"(Bruges campus only):
      Powered by VBO-FEB, Stichting Bekaert & Fondation van der Rest
      One full scholarship for a Belgian student.
    • "Jean-Luc Dehaene" (Bruges campus only):
      Sponsored by AB InBev, Lotus Bakeries and Umicore
      One full scholarship for a Belgian student. 
    • Lane Kirkland (Natolin campus only): 
      Applicants to the College of Europe for the "European Interdisciplinary Studies" programme (Natolin Campus) from Ukraine, Belarus, Russia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic and Moldova may apply for a Lane Kirkland scholarship. Please be informed that – in order to apply for one of those scholarships – the applicant has to go through the Lane Kirkland selection process as well. For details concerning this scholarship scheme please refer to www.kirkland.edu.pl
      Contact person: Ms Urszula Sobiecka:  urszula.sobiecka@kirkland.edu.pl 
      We strongly encourage you to apply for the scholarships as the College offers scholarships only to a very limited number of students/countries. The College of Europe does not take part in the selection procedure of the Lane Kirkland scholarships and has no authority in this procedure.
    • New scholarship scheme for candidates with a background in media and journalism:
      The College of Europe in Natolin has offered a new scholarship scheme starting with the current academic year 2021/2022. This new scholarship scheme foresees the partial to full coverage of the costs of stay and studying for the advanced Master of Arts in European Interdisciplinary Studies at the College of Europe in Natolin, for up to 5 admitted students coming from the European Union, the Western Balkans or the countries of the European Neighbourhood Policy, with a background or clear interest in journalism and media.
    • "Professor Bronisław Geremek" (Natolin campus only): 
      Interested graduates in History and related subjects from any country have to apply online and submit their completed application form including the required documents. The beneficiaries of these scholarships will be required to write their Master's Thesis on a topic relating to recent European history or to European civilisation. 
    • Provincie West-Vlaanderen (Bruges campus only):
      One partial scholarship for a Belgian student.
    • Fundación Ramón Areces: In the pursuit of excellence in the research process, the Ramón Areces Foundation sponsors scholarship programmes for study abroad to enable Spanish post-graduate students to study at some of the world's leading research centres. 
    • Rotary International (Bruges and Natolin campus):
      Students who have obtained a Rotary International scholarship can apply for admission to the College of Europe.
    • Scottish Government:
      The Scottish Government normally offers up to 3 scholarships covering fees and board and lodging for students ordinarily resident in Scotland.
    • Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs:

      The Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Directorate for EU Affairs, invites Turkish students with high academic standard and interest in EU studies to apply to the College of Europe and “The College of Europe Scholarship Program” for the academic year 2022-2023.  Students who are admitted by the College and possibly obtain one of those scholarships will be able to attend one of the master’s programmes (European Interdisciplinary Studies, European Economic Studies, EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies, European Legal Studies, European Political and Governance Studies) of the College of Europe (Natolin or Bruges campus) for the academic year 2022-2023. The scholarship application requirements can be found here. The deadline to apply to the academic programmes at the College and for the scholarships is 19 January 2022.