Jan Tinbergen Chair for European Economics

Jan Tinbergen Chair for European Economics held by Béatrice DUMONT, Director of Studies of the European Economic Studies Programme.

The Chair was established in memory of Jan TINBERGEN (1903-1994), who was a Dutch economist. Jan TINBERGEN was awarded the first Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel in 1969, which he shared with Ragnar Frisch for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes. Jan Tinbergen became known for his 'Tinbergen rule' which states that, in order to achieve a certain number of policy targets, it is necessary to control an equal number of policy instruments.

He was a founding trustee of Economists for Peace and Security.