

## **CLOSING CEREMONY**

Friday 20 June 2014

## Academic Year 2013-2014 Voltaire Promotion

| 14h00 | Students & guests take their seats.   |
|-------|---|
| 14h25 | Rector MONAR and Directors of Studies enter and take their seats.                                       |
| 14h30 | Opening & speech by Rector Jörg MONAR.  |
| 14h45 | Speech by Mrs Eleonora WÄKTARE (Simon Stevin Promotion 2001-2002), President of the Alumni Association. |
| 14h55 | Musical interlude by student choir (Alegria, introduced by Sacha Wojtek).                               |
| 15h00 | Speech 'Act and Change Together!' by Ms Mathilde LUGGER, Representative of the Student Charity Group.   |
| 15h05 | * Academic awards presented by Rector Jörg MONAR.   |

POL: Guido FARA (IT)

Hélène SIBILEAU (FR)

\* Laureate of each Department.

ECO : Kathleen BURKHARDT (DE)

Olivier COLIN (BE)

LAW : Philippe THILL (LU)

IRD : Willy KOKOLO (FR)

EIS : Catherine SENIO (FR)

Winner: Ludivine BLANC (FR).

<sup>\*</sup> European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations Prize for the best thesis on public policies impacting the pharmaceutical sector, presented by Mrs Marie-Claire PICKAERT.

<sup>\*</sup> Rafael Sanz Rodriguez Memorial Prize, presented by Mr Charles DE JAGER. Winner: Laura CORBETT (BE – LAW).

<sup>\*</sup> Sergio Lopez Perona Memorial Prize, presented by Mr Diego LLORENS ECHEGARAY. Winner: Elaine HARGROVE (AT/US – IRD).

<sup>\*</sup> IRD German Language Prize, presented by Ms Anne SWIETLIK. Winner: Serghei SADOHIN (MD/RO – IRD).

\* Burson-Marsteller Prize for the best thesis on the role of non-governmental actors in EU policy-making, presented by Ms Marta ZOLADZ.

Winner: Katja Annika TUOKKO (FI – POL).

\* ENP Award for the best thesis on the European Neighbourhoud Policy (Bruges), presented by Professor Erwan LANNON.

Winner: Elaine HARGROVE (AT/US - IRD).

\* EURid Prize for the best thesis on internet governance, presented by Mr Giovanni SEPPIA.

Winner: Nicolas REY (FR - IRD).

\* Google Prize for the best thesis on EU competition rules and policy relating to information technology, presented by Ms Julia HOLTZ.

Winner: Marcello CARAMAZZA (IT – LAW).

\* Inbev-Baillet Latour Award for the best thesis on EU-China relations, presented by Professor Jing MEN.

Winner: Stéphanie DHEUR (BE - ECO).

\* Johnson & Johnson Prize for the best thesis on a consumer-related topic, presented by Mr Gustavo MARANES.

Winner: Elisabet RUIZ-CAIRO (ES – LAW).

\* ECDPM Award for the best thesis on new directions for EU relations with Africa, presented by Prof. James MACKIE.

Winner: Willy KOKOLO (FR - IRD).

\* EEAS Award for the best thesis on EU external relations, presented by Mr Diego MELLADO.

Winner: Adam KAZNOVSKI (GB - IRD).

\* EPC Award for the best thesis on Europe in the world, presented by Dr. Rosa BALFOUR.

Winner: Federica PESCE (IT - IRD).

\* EUISS award for the best thesis on the EU's common foreign and security policy, the common security and defence policy and the EU external relations, presented by Mr Philip WORRÉ.

Winner: Pierre MINARD (FR - POL).

\* Linklaters Prize for the best thesis on the economic analysis of European law, presented by Mr Bernd MEYRING.

Winner: Perla Pui Kei YEUNG (GB/CN - LAW).

\* Mayer Brown Prize for the best thesis on the impact of EU law on business, presented by Mr Kiran DESAI.

Winner: Petar CIMENTAROV (GB - LAW).

\* TÜSIAD Award for the best thesis on EU enlargement policies, presented by Dr. Bahadir KALEAGASI.

No winner, no candidate fulfilled the requirements.

\* Union for the Mediterranean Award for the best thesis on Euro-Mediterranean relations, presented by Mr Javier MARTIN CANTERA.

Winner: Ana Luísa LEAL DE OLIVEIRA (PT – IRD).

\* UNU-CRIS Prize for the best thesis on the EU and other world regions, presented by Professor Luk VAN LANGENHOVE.

Winner: Joshua GARTLAND (GB – IRD).

\* Walter Hallstein Prize for the best German student, presented by Rector Jörg MONAR.

Winner: Kathleen BURKHARDT (DE - ECO).

\* Prize of the 'Dipartimento Italiano Politiche Europee della Presidenza del Consiglio dei Ministri', for the best 5 Italian students (choice based on the overall average), presented by Rector Jörg MONAR.

Winners:

Guido FARA (POL)

Natalia LATRONICO (LAW) Martina BARBERO (POL) Letizia GIANNI (LAW) Annalisa VOLPATO (LAW).

\* Global Competition Law Center Prize for the best thesis on competition law and policy. To be announced later.

16h10 Speech by the Student Representatives : Ms Nimra ZAHEER & Mr Manuel Oliver KÖNIG.

16h25 Closing of the Academic Year 2013-2014 by Rector Jörg MONAR.

'Ode to Joy' by student choir.

16h35 Rector and Directors of Studies lead the students and guests to the reception. Reception (Verversdijk).

19h00 End of reception.