Baillet Latour Chair of European Union-China Relations

In response to the growing interest of students, scholars and the general public in Europe's relations with China (PRC), the College of Europe, with the financial support of the Baillet Latour Fund, established the Baillet Latour Chair of European Union-China Relations in 2008. This Chair is based in the Department of EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies in Bruges.

Professor Jing MEN has been appointed as the first Chairholder of the Baillet Latour Chair of European Union-China Relations. Her work is supported by a part-time Research Assistant, Francesco Saverio MONTESANO.

The Chair offers courses on EU-China relations at the College of Europe in Bruges. It also organises guest lectures, international conferences and promotes multidisciplinary research on the European Union’s relations with China. At the end of each academic year the Chair grants an award for the best Master's thesis on EU-China relations.

In addition to international conferences and other academic exchanges, the Chair contributes to the development of university-level relations between Europe and China by providing a full scholarship that enables one Chinese student to pursue postgraduate studies in Bruges or in Natolin. The College of Europe finances a second full scholarship for a Chinese student.


Please note that as of November 2015, the InBev-Baillet Latour Fund has changed its name into Baillet-Latour Fund and the Chair’s name and logo have been adapted accordingly.


Share this page