Governing Bodies, Administration and the Academic Council

Vice-Rector Ewa OŚNIECKA-TAMECKA and Rector Jörg MONAR

​The College of Europe was established in 1949 in Bruges in Belgium. Since 1992 the College has operated on two campuses in two host countries, in Bruges (Belgium) and in Natolin (Poland). They are administered by their respective governing bodies, respectively under Belgian and Polish legislation. In all academic matters, they act under the governance of a single Academic Council.

The Bruges campus (Belgium)

The Administrative Council, presided by Mr Íñigo MÉNDEZ DE VIGO, includes representatives of the two host countries and of European governments. It is the highest decision-making authority, and is responsible for the implementation of the College’s objectives. The Executive Committee, elected by the Administrative Council and reporting to it, ensures sound financial and administrative management. Members Administrative Council / Members Executive Committee

The Natolin campus in Warsaw (Poland)

The Natolin Campus has been governed since 2001 by an Executive Board which ensures its sound financial and administrative management. Its members include representatives from the two host countries and the Rector and Vice-Rector of the College of Europe. Its Chairman is Prof. Jacek SARYUSZ-WOLSKI. Members Executive Board

The Rector & Vice-Rector

The Rector, Prof. Jörg MONAR, directs and coordinates the activities of the College of Europe and chairs the Academic Council. The Vice-Rector, Mrs Ewa OŚNIECKA-TAMECKA, is responsible for the management of the College of Europe Natolin Campus.

The Academic Council of the College of Europe

The Academic Council, which includes representatives of both campuses, ensures that College-wide education and training standards are maintained at a high level. Members