26 Jun 2020

Natolin Graduation Ceremony for the Hannah Arendt Promotion 2019/2020

From 16:00 till 19:00
Gardens of the Natolin Palace

Natolin (Warsaw) Campus
ul. Nowoursynowska 84
PL-02/797 Warszawa

Natolin (Warsaw) Campus

On Friday, 26 June 2020, the College of Europe in Natolin organized the Graduation Ceremony for the Hannah Arendt Promotion 2019/2020 in the Gardens of the Natolin Palace.

The Graduation Ceremony traditionally began with the Ode to Joy sung by the Natolin Choir and a welcome speech by the Vice-Rector, Mrs Ewa OŚNIECKA-TAMECKA. Then, a special address was delivered by Mr Bram VAN HECKE, Natolin alumnus of the Manuel Marín Promotion 2018/2019.

On the occasion of the ceremony, the following prizes were awarded to the best students of the Hannah Arendt Promotion 2019/2020:

  • Best student of the Promotion: Karalyn GARDNER (UK)
  • Best student of the major EU Public Affairs and PoliciesRose WOOLHOUSE (UK)
  • Best students of the major The EU in the WorldEmer GERRARD (IR) and Helena HAYMAN (UK)
  • Best student of the major The EU and its NeighboursKaralyn GARDNER (UK)
  • Best student of the major European History and CivilizationJacopo GIRAUDO (IT)
  • Outstanding student of the Promotion in the field of European History and Civilization: Grzegorz SZYMBORSKI (PL)
  • Outstanding students of the Promotion in the field of European Neighbourhood studies: Maria LELLI (IT) and Lola FERRAND (FR)
  • European People's Party Group Award for the best Master's thesis on the role and contribution of the European Parliament and its political groups: Jacopo GIRAUDO (IT)
  • Energy Community Award for the best Master's thesis on European energy governance: Lisse VAN VLIET (NL)
  • Amfori Award for the best Master's thesis on EU trade policy: Emer GERRARD (IR)
  • Sergio Lopez Perona Memorial Prize for best Master's thesis on the EU’s relations with the Middle East: Dafni ARGYRAKI (GR)
  • Jan Olaf Hausotter Memorial Prize for the best Master's thesis on transatlantic affairs: Patricia JAWOREK (DE), Manuel Marín Promotion 2018/2019
  • Prize of the Italian Presidency of the Council of Ministers:  Jacopo GIRAUDO (IT) and Maria LELLI (IT)
  • Winners of the competition to participate in the Eastern Partnership Youth Engagement Summit: Guilherme SILVA URSINI (IT, BR) and Laura TALJA (FI)

In conclusion, Vice-Rector Ewa OŚNIECKA-TAMECKA and the Student President Ms Sarah MORGAN gave their farewell speeches and the ceremony ended with a musical performance by the Natolin Choir followed by a common celebration in the Gardens of the Natolin Palace.

As some of the Natolin students were not able to participate in the Graduation Ceremony in person, they had the chance to connect via videoconferencing in order to take advantage of this special moment virtually.


The Graduation Ceremony was live-streamed on our social media channels (Facebook, Youtube). Watch the recording below:

Photo gallery:

Natolin Graduation Ceremony for the Hannah Arendt Promotion 2019/2020


In line with all relevant public health and safety measures and/or guidelines, registration for the event was mandatory for all Natolin students and staff. Participants were reminded that one cannot take part in the Graduation Ceremony if they were: suffering from COVID-19; infected with SARS-CoV-2; in quarantine; in isolation; or manifesting any respiratory symptoms. It was mandatory to maintain at least a 2m distance between participants. The use of face masks covering nose and mouth was not compulsory, but participants were asked to be in their possession in case the 2m distance could not always be upheld. Hand sanitizers were provided on-site.

* Your personal data will be processed in accordance with out privacy policy for events. Please not that during the event pictures may be taken which can be used for publication. In case you do not want to appear on such pictures, please mention this to the event organiser.