Recognition of the diploma

The College of Europe (Bruges and Natolin campus) is a European educational institution established under Belgian Law. It is registered with the Flemish Government of Belgium as an institution of higher education (The Flemish Government is competent for educational matters within the Belgian Federal State). Its Master's degrees are officially recognised by the Flemish Government, and are equivalent to fully recognised Master's degrees issued by a Flemish University.

The official recognition is valid for all graduates of both campuses and has retroactive effect (Articles 53bis, 124 and 130 of the Decree on the Restructuring of Higher Education in Flanders as amended on 4 July 2008.
(Dutch version) - (French version)

In accordance with the Bologna Declaration the College of Europe offers one year advanced Master's degrees and, from the academic year 2009-2010 on, calculates coursework in ECTS credits.  (English version) - (French version)

The one-year study programme at the College of Europe leads to an accredited degree of 66 ECTS.

The academic programmes of the College of Europe are accredited by the Dutch-Flemish Accreditation Organisation (NVAO, Nederlands-Vlaamse Accreditatie Organisatie) for the period 2010-2018 which is renewable. This official organisation was established by international treaty between the Flemish Government and the Dutch government with the aim of ensuring the quality of higher education in both Flanders and the Netherlands (cf. Belgisch Staatsblad (Moniteur belge), 19.08.2010, pp.53938ff).

The Flemish Government had already granted a provisional accreditation for the period 2007-2010.